Skip to main content

“Making Democracy Work,” a Conversation on Leadership Featuring SNF Co-President Andreas Dracopoulos

SNF Co-President Andreas Dracopoulos joined Johns Hopkins University President Ron Daniels, Africa50 COO Carole Wainaina, investor and entrepreneur Alejandro Santo Domingo, and engineer and board professional Ulla-Britt Fräjdin-Hellqvist in an event organized by the Tällberg Foundation to discuss the role of leadership in preserving democracy.

Andreas shared his optimism for the future and urged leaders at all levels to focus on learning from the pandemic and acting on what we have learned.

The conversation was organized by the Tällberg Foundation to celebrate the winners of this year’s Eliasson Global Leadership Prize: ocean explorer Sylvia Earle, human rights lawyer Jared Genser, and engineer and social entrepreneur Nithya Ramanathan.

The Prize, and the conversation, aim to lift up examples of leadership in any field that are rooted in universal values and based on a truly global vision. The Eliasson Global Leadership Prize is made possible through the support of the Stavros Niarchos Foundation (SNF). The Prize is named for Swedish diplomat and former Deputy Secretary-General of the United Nations Jan Eliasson, and each winner, selected from candidates nominated by the public, is awarded a $50,000 stipend.