Skip to main content

2023 Tällberg-SNF-Eliasson Global Leadership Prize winners take aim at humanity’s biggest challenges

Nov 15, 2023

They’ve helped bring vision to more than a million people, worked to ensure that new technologies serve humanity rather than the other way around, and fought to safeguard and restore forests around the world.

Andrew Bastawrous, Tristan Harris, and Margaret Lowman are the winners of the 2023 Tällberg-SNF-Eliasson Global Leadership Prize.

“Like all exceptional leaders, they give us hope that the exception can become the rule: that every one of us can take courageous and collaborative action on the problems humanity faces,” said SNF Co-President Andreas Dracopoulos. “We congratulate these three outstanding leaders for their work confronting the most critical topics of our age—health, new technology, and climate change—with optimism backed by hard work and resilience tempered by steadfast dedication.”

The Prize seeks to recognize leaders from around the world whose work is innovative, courageous, and helps catalyze positive change at a global level. Among others, the 2022 winners included people working in Venezuela, Zimbabwe, and Greece to champion educational access for migrants, sustainable mushroom farming, and inclusive soccer play.

2023 Prize winner Tristan Harris took part in a discussion on the relationship between humanity and AI at the 2020 SNF Nostos Conference.

The Tällberg Foundation recently announced the launch of a new mentorship program for emerging leaders worldwide.