The 2017 Tällberg Global Leaders discuss “Leadership in the 21st Century”
28 November 2017

The Tällberg Foundation recently announced the selection of four new Tällberg Global Leaders. They join a select group of individuals from around the world whose work, accomplishments and prospects embody the kind of leadership needed in the 21st century.

The Stavros Niarchos Foundation provides significant support for the Tällberg leadership initiative as well as other Foundation activities.

On Tuesday, November 28th, 2017 at 18:30 EST, the Tällberg Global Leaders are participating in a public discussion on the topic “Leadership in the 21st Century” at Columbia University, as part of its World Leaders Forum series. The evening will be built around two conversations: one about the world today, between former UN Deputy Secretary-General Jan Eliasson and Columbia University’s Vishakha Desai and one about the demands facing great leaders among the Tällberg Global Leaders of 2017.

The 2017 Tällberg Global Leaders are:

Rodrigo Rubido Alonso, an architect, co-founder and executive director of Instituto Elos based in Santos, Brazil that is dedicated to participative leadership, community, mobilization and community building;

Rebecca Heller, the director and co-founder of the International Refugee Assistance Project (IRAP), headquartered in New York and operating globally, which organizes law students and lawyers to develop and enforce a set of legal and human rights for refugees and displaced persons;

Fiorenzo Omenetto, the Frank C. Doble Professor of Engineering, and a Professor of Biomedical Engineering at Tufts University in Boston who has pioneered the use of silk as a material platform for advanced technology with application in photonics, optoelectronics and nanotechnology;

Bright Simons, technology innovator, development activist and social entrepreneur, based in Ghana, whose work challenges the received wisdom about social and economic development strategies and programs in Africa.

Selection of the Tällberg Global Leaders is an integral part of the Foundation's efforts to encourage new thinking about leadership. The four 2017 leaders were chosen by an international jury from a pool of 220 nominations from 50 countries who were nominated through an open, online process. The jury reviewed nominations that included business people, national political leaders, social activists, artists, technologists, academics and others.