Rockefeller University Scientist Wins 2017 Nobel Prize
03 October 2017

On October 2nd, 2017, the Nobel Committee announced Michael W. Young, Professor at Rockefeller University in New York, has won the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine. He shares the prize with Jeffrey Hall and Michael Rosbash of Brandeis University.

The three scientists were awarded for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm. The circadian rhythm governs biological clocks that regulate sleep, eating behavior, and metabolism.

The Stavros Niarchos Foundation (SNF) has supported a number of projects at Rockefeller University, including scholarships and fellowships, among others. Most notably, the SNF supported the Stavros Niarchos Foundation-David Rockefeller River Campus, a major extension of the university’s campus over the East River. 

More information can be found on Rockefeller University’s website, here, and the Nobel Prize’s website, here.